Universidad del Salvador (USAL)







01 - No Poverty

Organization Type

Academia / Think Tank





The Universidad del Salvador (USAL) is a Jesuit university in Buenos Aires, Argentina. In addition to its campus in downtown Buenos Aires, it has instructional and research facilities in Pilar, San Miguel, Bahía Blanca, and in the provinces of Santa Cruz and Misiones. As of 2019, approximately 20,000 undergraduate and over 8,000 graduate students were enrolled.


The Society of Jesus (Jesuits), which had founded the first Argentine university in the city of Córdoba in 1622, created the Superior Institute of Philosophy in the seat of the Colegio del Salvador (primary and secondary levels). This Institute was the nearest predecessor for the Universidad del Salvador.

Private universities were authorized in 1955, and on May 2 of the following year the Foundation Act of the "University Faculties of Salvador" was signed. On May 15, 1958, the name was changed to the University Institutes of Salvador, and finally to Universidad del Salvador on December 8, 1959.

In March 1975, the Jesuits entrusted management of the university to a group of lay people, who took on the responsibility of keeping the identity of the Universidad del Salvador by meeting Jesuit goals and aims. Institutional direction is still governed by the Jesuits, who appoint authorities through the Civil Association Universidad del Salvador.


According to its Academic Statute, the Universidad del Salvador has as essential and specific purposes:

  • The complete – scientific, humanistic and Christian – education of its students, in all careers or specialties, in order to promote professionals, teachers and researchers;

  • Scientific research capable of demonstrating the harmonious synthesis of science and faith;

  • And in general all higher education aimed at the Christian vision of the different human problems.

Faculties and Departments:

  • Faculty of Administration

  • Faculty of Economic Sciencies

  • Faculty of Education & Social Communications

  • Faculty of Law

  • Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Faculty of History, Geography & Tourism

  • Faculty of Medicine

  • Faculty of Psychology & Psychopedagogy

  • Faculty of Science & Technology

  • School of Agronomy

  • School of Veterinary Medicine

  • School of Design

  • School of Art and Architecture

  • School of Eastern Studies

  • School of Modern Languages

Similar Organizations

Name Sector Country

VolCare Foundation

Education, Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women, Sustainability and Environment, Volunteerism, Water Ghana View Details

Shandong Knowledge Economy Association

Development Cooperation, Disaster Risk Reduction, Education, Industrial Development, Research China View Details

Asabe Shehu Yar'adua Foundation (ASYARFS)

Agriculture, Food and Rural Development, Child Development, Climate Change, Development Cooperation, Disaster Risk Reduction, Education, Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women, Health, Humanitarian Emergencies, Intellectual Property and Patent, Media, Migration, Natural Resources Management, Peace and Development, Population, Procurement, Renewable Energy, Reproductive Health, SIDS Accelerated Modalities of Action Pathway/ SAMOA Pathway., Sustainability and Environment, Transport and Aviation, Volunteerism, Water, Youth United States of America View Details

National University of San Martín, Argentina

Development Cooperation Argentina View Details

Universidad Nacional de Avellaneda

Sustainability and Environment Argentina View Details


Comite de expertos